0 items - 0
  • Empty cart!
6 $

Great Feasts of the Church

The ecclesiastical year is divided between movable and immovable or fixed holy days. The movable holy days are determined by the date of Easter, the most important of all feast days, which is in a class by itself. The determination of the date of Easter was definitively regulated by the decision of the First Ecumenical Synod, held in Nicaea (325).

Next in importance to Easter are the “twelve great feasts,” of which three are movable. Eight of these feasts are devoted to Christ and four to the Virgin Mary. There are also a number of feast days of varying importance, most of which commemorate the more popular saints.

Click on any of the links below to learn more about one of these feasts.

January 6: The Feast of Epiphany

February 2: The Presentation of Christ

March 25: The Annunciation

•Great Lent, Triodion, and Pentecostarion Seasons

Palm Sunday

Great and Holy Pascha

The Ascension of Christ

Holy Pentecost

August 6: The Transfiguration of Christ

August 15: The Dormition of the Theotokos

September 8: The Nativity of the Theotokos

September 14: The Exaltation of the Cross

November 21: The Entrance of the Theotokos Into the Temple

December 25: The Nativity of Christ

Privacy Policy: We will not sell, lease or trade your information.

Connect with us Social Media Channels
© Believers Eastern Church. All rights reserved. | Terms of Use